What’s On

Stay tuned. We’re announcing events soon! While you’re here, have a look at some of our previous events

Archive

Feb 2022 | TAS, NSW, VIC
Thu Feb 24 2022 | Brunswick Mechanics VIC
Sat Feb 26 | Brunswick Mechanics, VIC
Fri 4 Feb - Sun 6 Mar | Brunswick Mechanics
Sat 5 Mar | Brunswick Mechanics
Sun 6 Mar | Brunswick Mechanics, VIC
Fri 4 Feb - Sun 6 Mar | Brunswick Mechanics
Wed 9 Mar | Brunswick Mechanics, VIC
Thu 10 Mar | Brunswick Mechanics, VIC
Thu 17 Mar | Brunswick Mechanics
Sun 27 & Tues 29 Mar | Berth 4, Federation Wharf (VIC)
Wed 27 Apr, 7:30PM | Brunswick Mechanics
Thu 28th Apr, 5:30PM | Brunswick Mechanics
Wed 11 May –– Sat 25 Jun | Brunswick Mechanics
Sat 4 Jun | Brunswick Mechanics
Wed 8 Jun | Brunswick Mechanics
Sat 11 –– Sun 26 Jun | SiteWorks, TwoSixty & Melbourne
Thu 16 Jun | Glenroy Community Hub
Sat 25 Jun | Brunswick Mechanics
Thu 30 Jun | Brunswick Mechanics
Sat 9 Jul | Mood Studios
Thu 14 –– Sat 16 Jul | Brunswick Mechanics
Sat 9 Jul –– Sat Aug 13
Above:
  1. Credit: Belinda Locke, ‘Everyday Acts of Disobedience’. Photo: Jack Dixon-Gunn

  2. Credit: Studio Portrait of Aida Azin. Photo: Thomas McCammon

  3. Image: Jenny Barnes. Courtesy of the artist.

  4. Image: Lily Nie at Paperlily Studio. Courtesy of Emerging Writers’ Festival

  5. Credit: The Purple Shall Govern (2022). Photo: Jody Haines.

  6. No caption

  7. No caption

  8. Credit: Silk screen printed textiles in the studio (2021). Photo: Kay Abude.

  9. Image: Marcus Whale - Possession. Photo: Rena Zheng.

  10. Image: Kathleen Gonzalez, Secretos de la Raiz (video still), 2022

  11. No caption

  12. Image: New North Foreign, Intimate Concert 4. Courtesy of New North

  13. Image: Radical Hospitality at Next Wave. Photo: Mae Hatrick (2022)

  14. Image: Here We Have It by Amrita Hepi, 2021, VCA Dance, Faculty of Fine Arts and Music, University of Melbourne. Image by Gregory Lorenzutti.

  15. Image: James McLean (photo credit James McLean)

  16. Image: Jacqui Shelton ‘Department of Lost Notes’ Anne Moffat (2022)

  17. Coil, Image: Lucy Parakhina (2022)

  18. Image: Coil. Photo: Rosie Hasties (2022)

  19. Image: install of Jacqui Shelton at Brunswick Mechanics. Courtesy of the artist.

  20. Image: Chik Chika Photo: Nick Mckinlay

  21. Image: Jacqui Shelton ‘Department of Lost Notes’ video- still 2022

  22. Image: Leisuretime I. Photo: Aaron Claringbold and Rebecca Mccauley (2022)

  23. Image: Magic Steven. Courtesy of the artists and Brunswick Music Festival.

  24. Image: Maria Moles. Photo: Nick Mckinlay

  25. Image: Brunswick Mechanics Institute. Photo: Anne Moffatt (2020)

  26. Image: Coil. Photo:Diana Domonkos


#EWF22 Closing Party: Lie To Me

Sat 25 June
8pm-11pm
📍 Brunswick Mechanics, 270 Sydney Road, Brunswick
$16/$21
Book tickets here

Farewell the festival for another year with a night of interactive readings. As some of our favourite writers share stories, you are invited to guess who is speaking the truth, and who is spinning a web of pure fiction. Will you uncover what is real, or will it all remain a mystery? Who’s to say? Afterwards, join us on the dancefloor as we celebrate the final festival night with a live DJ and our best moves.

With Shu-Ling Chua, Paige Clark, Paul Dalla Rosa, Mia Nie and more.

Presented in partnership with Emerging Writers’ Festival. View more of the 2022 program here.

Accessibility

Auslan interpretting This event will be Auslan interpreted.

Wheelchair icon Brunswick Mechanics is a wheelchair accessible venue.

Next Wave and Emerging Writer’s Festival would love to support your attendance at this event. For further enquiries about how we can support your access requirements, please contact our team on (03) 9387 3376 or email us at hello@nextwave.org.au

Above:
  1. Lily Nie at Paperlily Studio.