That's a wrap on 2023!

It has been a year of experimentation, creativity and learning for us, and we’d like to give a massive shoutout to all our program artists, partners and friends and the vibrant and diverse communities they brought on their Next Wave journey.

Our program participants:

  • All School Crit Club artists: Derrick Duan x Lachlan Thompson (VIC), Tom Campbell (ACT), ZHI x Joanne Leong (ACT) and Mohamed Chamas (VIC)
  • TIDAL program artists: Aaron Claringbold, Eliki Reade, Jack Mitchell, and Rebecca McCauley
  • Producers in Residence: MaggZ, Leigh Lule and Tarryn Love
  • Our Market Market All School EXCHANGE artists: Britt Guy, Nathan Stoneham, Carlo Ansaldo, Kristi Monfries, James Mangohig, Jocelyn Tribe, Rhanjell Villanueva, Kelly Beneforti, Matthew van Roden, Mikaela Earnshaw and Naina Sen
  • Our 2021–23 Artistic Directorate: Amaara Raheem (VIC), Daley Rangi (WA), Dominic Guerrera (SA), Kristi Monfries (ACT), Naina Sen (NT), Nathan Stoneham (QLD), Theia Connell (TAS) and Tian Zhang (NSW).
  • Our 2021–23 Kickstart cohort: Delali Zevon-Aniakwah (ACT), Jocelyn Tribe (NT), Rachael Anderson (SA), Re-Right Collective (NSW), Kartanya Maynard (TAS), Devika Billimoria and Amias Hanley (Burial, VIC), Ivy Mutuku (VIC), Prue Stevenson (Fiddle, Twiddle and Tune 2023, VIC), Elham Eshraghian-Haakansson (Anvár 2023, WA) and Rhanjell Villanueva (QLD)
  • Our Young Artistic Directorate – A Rising Tide: Maggz, Ant Banda, Matisse Laida (We Eatin Good) and Lydia Tesema.

Our patient NWF2020 artists:

  • Bruno Booth (Dead Ends and Detours)
  • Belinda Locke (Under My Tongue)

Our foodie friends:

  • Islands of the Moon (Fiddle, Twiddle and Tune – Radical Hospitality)
  • Mabu Mabu (ANTI-DISCIPLINE – Radical Hospitality)
  • Rapid Creek Markets (Market Market All School EXCHANGE, Darwin)
  • Saluhan Collective (Kain Na Tayo – Radical Hospitality)
  • Seaweed Appreciation Society international, GRUEL (Quincy Malesovas) and Kelping (Lichen Kelp and Dylan Martorell), (TIDAL - Radical Hospitality)
  • Noisy Ritual and Mountain Goat for the essential refreshments

And importantly, those we couldn’t function without

  • Our many partners and collaborators, including Creative Australia, Creative Victoria, Arts Merri-Bek, City of Melbourne, VicHealth, PICA, Ainslie and Gorman Arts Centres, City of Wyndham, FRAME Biennial of Dance and Centre for Projection Art, Darwin Festival, Accomplice and You Are Here.
  • Our donors – thank you for your support!
  • Our audiences, followers and friends – thank you for coming on the journey with us.
  • Our board: Amrit Gill, Bec Cole, Nicole Smith, Kate Robinson, Jodee Mundy OAM and Hannah Jensen.
  • Our staff, casuals, volunteers and mentors.

Thank you for an incredible year!

The Next Wave office will be closed from Monday 25 December to Friday 5 January. We’ll see you in 2024 for another bold and exciting year of art-making!

  1. 2023 program launch, photo by Mae Hatrick, 2023

  2. ‘Fiddle, Twiddle & Tune’ by Prue Stevenson, photo by Pia Jonson, 2023

  3. 2023 program launch, photo by Mae Hatrick, 2023

  4. Body-Cities Conversation Series, photo by Teagan Ramsay, 2023

  5. ‘Burial’ by Amias Hanley, photo by Renee Stamatis, 2023

  6. Submersible Supper Club at ‘To pitch a tent, to pull it back down’, TIDAL, 2023

  7. Rehearsal photos from ‘Under My Tongue’ by Belinda Locke, photo by Tom Noble, 2023

  8. ‘Anvár’ by Elham Eshraghian-Haakansson, 2023

  9. ‘If this flesh could’ by Kelly Beneforti at Market Market, Paz Tassone, 2023

  10. Islands of the Moon by Macehi Komba, photo by Moe, 2023